I have been scouring the internBlack Raspberry Bushet and every cookbook I own searching for the proper baked goods to serve with tea. There are oh so many though and it’s very hard to narrow it down to a few to start with. So I said to myself, how about doing something will all those black raspberries all over the place. They are literally everywhere out there. I picked enough for some cakes, jam, and to just eat plain on my cereal. And I found a delicious looking Black Raspberry Almond Tea Cake.

The cake itself was delicious. I wish I lived in an area where I could grow almonds. Well you never know very soon maybe we will relocate to California and there I could grow almonds . .. Drizzled over the cake it had an almond glaze and I sprinkled some fresh raspberries on top. The only problem with this cake was that it does not keep longer than the next morning. So it would not be practical for the store.

Black Raspberry Almond Tea Cakes

Black Raspberry Almond Tea Cakes

1 tbsp almond extract
1/3 cup oil
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup Buttermilk (can substitute milk with 1 tsp white vinegar)
1/2 cup sour cream
2 cups flour
1 tbsp baking powder
2 cups raspberries

1 tbsp cream
1/4 tsp almond extract
3/4 cup powdered sugar
3 tsp sliced toasted almonds

Preheat to 325. Combine all wet ingredients, them mix in sugar. Add dry until well combined, then fold in raspberries. Pour batter into greased mini pans or into a greased bundt pan. Bake for 50 to 45 minutes. For glaze combine cream and almond extract, add powdered sugar until combined into a pourable glaze. Add almonds. Allow cakes to cool slightly, drizzle glaze on top just before serving. Garnish with fresh raspberries.

This is a quest that will continue . . .

