Lord of the RIngsHappy Birthday J.R.R. Tolkien

One day, whilst browsing through an antique shop, I came across a treasure. Looking up, I noticed a box set with slightly faded spines. Upon closer inspection I realized I found a second edition box set of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Quickly I found a corner and inspected the set in secret as if someone was going to see and rip it out of my hands. I found it in wonderful condition with only slight flaws. I quietly slipped it back on the self behind several other books and slid out the shop.

Once home I found myself brooding over whether or not I should make the investment and whether or not someone was going to find it in my hiding place. Without much deliberation I grabbed my purse when back to buy it.

So here it is, in all its glory. 1965 Lord of the Rings Boxed Set with fold out maps intact and nothing but a tiny chip to one dust jacket, full appendices and Tolkien’s own introduction.

Happy birthday J.R.R. Tolkien!

